Living in the Woods changes you (literally)

In the beginning of 2022, my wife became obsessed with chickens and the idea of having our own coop. The problem was that we lived in the middle of Fort Wayne, Indiana– a town that did not allow urban chickens (look it up, it’s a thing). Defeated, by the law, she dismissed the idea for the present.

That’s when I approached her about the idea of moving to the country and started to dream of what our life could look like if we had our own homestead. I was surprised and pleased that she agreed to the idea. This started our journey of finding our homestead.

Early on in that journey, I started reading a book called, “The Extended Mind –The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain” by Annie Murphy. The book helped me profoundly and talked about the impact that movement and nature have on our minds. When we are moving around, our mind is more active versus sitting at a desk. Also, the sharp lines and angles, and decor in an office setting can doesn’t put our minds in the best places. These sentences are just a short summary of the book. I encourage you to pick up your own copy on Amazon. Annie does a great job backing up all of her ideas with research.

Because of the book, we decided that we needed to have a house with some woods on the premise–the more the better. After several months of searching, multiple failed attempts at making an offer, and many conversations, we finally found our dream home and purchased it.

Our new home is surrounded by woods.

After our move, I noticed something unusual… I started losing weight. I wasn’t doing anything vastly different. Then I noticed my blood pressure was lower. My mind was more relaxed. I slept better. I had a physical later that month and was in the best health I’ve had in 10 years. Now, why did this happen? I believe it’s because of the trees that I am surrounded by. They really do change you. We were made to live in nature!

Leave a comment